MISSING SUMMER by DESTINEE

the grass so green,
the sun so bright,
life seems a dream,
no worries in sight

tans and tank tops,
laughter and bliss,
each moment passes,
without even a miss

friends and cookouts,
memories and laughs,
good times to remember,
but how long will it last

the grass soon fades,
leaves begin to fall,
school replaces sleepovers,
oh I’ll miss it all

Source: https://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/summer


I can’t believe these short months of summer are already coming to an end, school is coming and reality is starting to creep into our lives. Yikes!!! Reading this poem makes me sad about how short our opportunities are and how we should take advantage of what life gives us. In thisΒ post, I have little reflections about summer coming to an end that I just like thinking about!


“Summer will end soon enough, and childhood as well.”

George R.R. Martin

↑↑↑↑↑ I believe this quote is more of a negative perspective on life but it is a good reminder on how we should spend whateverΒ time we have to do our very best and have fun! You Only Live Once!


“You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another humbly in love.”

Galatians 5:13

↑↑↑↑↑ yess!! once again the bible hits a home run again! I relate this verse w/ summer b/c our “freedom” is summer and when the verse says “do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature…” it’s saying we shouldn’t waste summer doing worthless things. Hopefully, next summer I can do better and fill it w/ positivity and spend more time enjoying the outdoors and things I couldn’t do this year.


For me, school starts next Monday :((( AND I wish I had more summer days left to just relax and hang out with my friends and family. But oh well, there’s always next year! Stay tuned for an upcoming post about all things back-to-school related-goody!! πŸ˜‚

THANKS FOR READING- KATIE β™₯β™₯β™₯

 

Leave a Reply

