THE GIFT OF FREEDOM: JULY 4TH!!!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Peter Marshall once said, “May we think of freedom, not as the right to do as we please, but as the opportunity to do what is right.”

 

fireworks-dc-56a236c45f9b58b7d0c7f731

Fireworks in Washington DC. Photo © Capitol Concert

 

This quote is close to my heart and a touching reminder of why I am a proud American. According to Oxford Dictionaries, freedom is defined as, “The power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants.” Freedom gives people the power to do evil or good. I believe it is the duty of righteous citizens to use freedom for the good of others. So, I speak here to show my passion and gratitude to America, the country that has blessed me and millions of people with independence.

This is a story of how July 4th, Independence Day, has impacted me ↴ and reflects Peter Marshall’s words of wisdom.

On July 4th, 2014, I was celebrating Independence Day with my family. It was at noon when my dad received a call from my aunt in Louisiana that my grandmother had been hit by a car. Later on those dark hours, she passed away, leaving my entire family crushed. It was a terrible accident where a drunk driver swerved out of nowhere hitting my grandma. This really shows how freedom is misused.

My grandmother was the one to give the gift of freedom to her children and grandchildren decades ago when she fought out of a war-torn Vietnam along with 11 children and found sanctuary in the land of the free. The freedom that was bestowed on my family has given us the ability to do what we please but also the opportunity to do what is right. I live in thanks for everything my family and the US has done for me and those I love. And I hope to never misuse freedom like that drunk driver.

Freedom is a gift. A gift to be cherished and held with care. As Peter Marshall said, “May we think of freedom, not as the right to do as we please, but as the opportunity to do what is right.” 

HAPPY JULY 4TH!!! be safe and have fun!! whether you celebrate Independence Day or not, I hope you found these words true and touching! – KATIE ♥♥♥

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

